Contributors‎ > ‎

Faculty and Researchers


Faculty                          


Dr. Sheng Cai
Assistant Professor
Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Materials Science and Engineering Program
University of California, San Diego
shqcai@ucsd.edu
Phone: 858-534-2372
Webpage: http://caigroup.ucsd.edu


Research Focus
Mechanics of Soft Materials; Electro-chemo-mechanics of Solids; Mechanics of Energy Materials;Bio-inspired Design and Bio-mechanics;  3D Fabrications


Dr. Olivia Graeve
Associate Professor
Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Materials Science and Engineering Program
University of California, San Diego
ograeve@ucsd.edu
Phone: 858-246-0146


Research Focus
Solution-based processing of nanopowders; spark plasma sinteringof materials; powder particle size distribution control and characterization; behavior of colloidal systems; morphological control of non-oxide ceramic powders; composite manufacturing; special emphasis on electromagnetic materials for sensors and energy applications.


Dr. Joanna McKittrick
Professor
Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Materials Science and Engineering Program
University of California, San Diego
jmckittrick@ucsd.edu
Phone: 858-534-5425
Webpage:  http://maemail.ucsd.edu/~mckittrick


Research Focus
• Understanding the structure and mechanical properties of biological materials (e.g. bone, teeth, mollusk shells, quills, osteoderms, antlers, horn).
• The invention of bioinspired materials  by freeze casting, 3D printing and composite materials fabrication. 
• The development of biomaterials (orthopedic implants, drug delivery systems).


Dr. Marc Meyers
Distinguished Professor
Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Department of Nanoengineering
Materials Science and Engineering Program
University of California, San Diego
mameyers@ucsd.edu
Phone: 858-534-4719
Webpage: http://www.meyersgroup.edu


Research Focus
Biological and bioinspired materials; nanocrystalline and ultra fine grained metals; mechanical and dynamic behavior of materials with emphasis on laser compression and high speed reactions.


Researchers             

 
Graduate Students

Michael Frank
Wei Huang
Jae-Young (Jerry) Jung
Steven Naleway
Haocheng Quan
Vincent Sherman
Frances Su
Tarah Sullivan
Bin Wang
Yang (Daniel) Yu  
                  
mbfrank@ucsd.edu
w7huang@eng.ucsd.edu
jyjung@eng.ucsd.edu
snaleway@eng.ucsd.edu
haquan@eng.ucsd.edu
vsherman@eng.ucsd.edu
fysu@eng.ucsd.edu
tnsulliv@eng.ucsd.edu
biw004@eng.ucsd.edu
yay047@eng.ucsd.edu
                        

 

Comments