Faculty and Researchers

Faculty

Dr. Sheng Cai

Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Materials Science and Engineering Program

University of California, San Diego

shqcai@ucsd.edu

Phone: 858-534-2372

Webpage: http://caigroup.ucsd.edu

Research Focus

Mechanics of Soft Materials; Electro-chemo-mechanics of Solids; Mechanics of Energy Materials;Bio-inspired Design and Bio-mechanics; 3D Fabrications

Dr. Olivia Graeve

Associate Professor

Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Materials Science and Engineering Program

University of California, San Diego

ograeve@ucsd.edu

Phone: 858-246-0146

Research Focus

Solution-based processing of nanopowders; spark plasma sinteringof materials; powder particle size distribution control and characterization; behavior of colloidal systems; morphological control of non-oxide ceramic powders; composite manufacturing; special emphasis on electromagnetic materials for sensors and energy applications.

Dr. Marc Meyers

Distinguished Professor

Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Department of Nanoengineering

Materials Science and Engineering Program

University of California, San Diego

mameyers@ucsd.edu

Phone: 858-534-4719

Webpage: http://www.meyersgroup.edu

Research Focus

Biological and bioinspired materials; nanocrystalline and ultra fine grained metals; mechanical and dynamic behavior of materials with emphasis on laser compression and high speed reactions.

Graduate Student Researchers

Benjamin Lazarus (bslazaru@eng.ucsd.edu)

Joshua Pelz (jpelz@eng.ucsd.edu)

Sean Garner (sgarner@eng.ucsd.edu)

Sheron Tavares (sstavare@eng.ucsd.edu)


Past Student Researchers

Michael Frank (mbfrank@ucsd.edu)

Haocheng Quan (haquan@eng.ucsd.edu)

Tarah Sullivan (tnsulliv@eng.ucsd.edu)

Yang (Daniel) Yu (yay047@eng.ucsd.edu)

Andrei Pissarenko (apissare@eng.ucsd.edu)

Audrey Velasco-Hogan (ajvelasc@eng.ucsd.edu)

Wei Huang (w7huang@eng.ucsd.edu)

Jae-Young (Jerry) Jung (jyjung@eng.ucsd.edu)

Keisuke Matsushita (akmatsus@eng.ucsd.edu)

Frances Su (fysu@eng.ucsd.edu)

Yuchen Zhang (yuz484@eng.ucsd.edu)